NIH Director's Poineer Award

Fourth Annual NIH Director’s
Pioneer Award Symposium

September 22–23, 2008
Natcher Conference Center (Building 45)
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland


No registration is required and attendance is free. The symposium will be Web cast.

Agenda – Monday, September 22, 2008

8:30 - 9:15 a.m. Introductory Remarks and Announcement of 2008 Awardees
Elias A. Zerhouni, M.D., Director, NIH
Jeremy M. Berg, Ph.D., Director, NIGMS, NIH
9:15 - 10:00 a.m. Keynote Talk: Elias A. Zerhouni, M.D., Director, NIH
10:00 - 10:20 a.m. Emery Neal Brown, M.D., Ph.D., Massachusetts General Hospital/MIT
Imaging Loss of Consciousness Under Anesthesia
10:20 - 10:40 a.m. Frances E. Jensen, M.D., Children's Hospital, Boston/Harvard Medical School
Understanding Cognitive Consequences of Early Life Epilepsy
10:40 - 11:00 a.m. Break
11:00 - 11:20 a.m. Takao K. Hensch, Ph.D., Children's Hospital Boston/Harvard Medical School
Epigenetic Control of Critical Period Plasticity
11:20 - 11:40 a.m. Thomas R. Clandinin, Ph.D., Stanford University
Toward a Genetic Dissection of Visual Computation
11:40 a.m. - noon Mark J. Schnitzer, Ph.D., Stanford University
New Paradigms for in vivo Microscopy in Live Subjects
12:00 - 12:20 p.m. Gina G. Turrigiano, Ph.D., Brandeis University
Mapping the Location of Synaptic Proteins Using Super-Resolution Fluorescence Microscopy
12:20 - 1:50 p.m. Lunch break
1:50 - 2:30 p.m. Poster Moderation for Pioneer Awardees
2:30 - 4:30 p.m. Poster Session for Pioneer Awardees and Reception


Agenda – Tuesday, September 23, 2008

8:30 - 8:50 a.m. Lisa Feldman Barrett, Ph.D., Boston College/Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital
What is an Emotion?
8:50 - 9:10 a.m. Peter S. Bearman, Ph.D., Columbia University
Social Dynamics and Autism Prevalence
9:10 - 9:30 a.m. Marshall S. Horwitz, M.D., Ph.D., University of Washington School of Medicine
Inferring Cell Lineage From Somatic Mutations
9:30 - 9:50 a.m. James J. Collins, Ph.D., Boston University
A Network Biology Approach to Antibiotic Action and Bacterial Defense Mechanisms
9:50 - 10:20 a.m. Break
10:20 - 10:40 a.m. Rustem F. Ismagilov, Ph.D., University of Chicago
Space – The Final Frontier
10:40 - 11:00 a.m. Margaret L. Gardel, Ph.D., University of Chicago
Emergent Behaviors of the Cellular Cytoskeleton
11:00 a.m. - noon Concurrent Roundtable Discussions:
– Training and Collaboration in the Conduct of Highly Innovative Research
– Recognizing and Fostering Highly Innovative Research: The Investigator's Perspective
12:00 - 1:30 p.m. Lunch break
1:30 - 2:10 p.m. Poster Moderation for New Innovator Awardees
2:10 - 4:00 p.m. Poster Session for New Innovators
4:00 p.m. Adjourn


Activities of the symposium are supported in part by the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health through grants from Booz Allen Hamilton and the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation.

The Foundation for the National Institutes of Health is at the forefront of identifying and developing opportunities for innovative public-private partnerships involving industry, academia, and the philanthropic community. The foundation was established by the United States Congress to support the mission of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) – improving health through scientific discovery. A non-profit, 501(c) (3) corporation, the Foundation raises private-sector funds for a broad portfolio of unique programs that complement and enhance NIH priorities and activities. The foundation can be found on the web at 

This page last reviewed on January 10, 2014